Left to right: Peter, Amy, Jan, Fred, Libby, Brian

Left to right: Peter, Amy, Jan, Fred, Libby, Brian

Texas Discovery Gardens is proud to announce the Hegi Family — Fred and Jan, Peter and Amy, Brian and Libby — as the recipients of the 2019 Flora Award. They will be honored at the Flora Gala on October 24! The Flora Award, one of Dallas’ most prestigious honors, has been presented in support of Texas Discovery Gardens since 1982. It serves to recognize outstanding citizens who have demonstrated a commitment to community service, education and the advancement of the environment and quality of life.

“The Hegis represent two generations of successful and generous Dallas families,” said Dick Davis, Executive Director of Texas Discovery Gardens. “Their list of business and philanthropic successes is impressive, and we are grateful they are allowing us to honor them with the Flora Award.”

The Hegis’ leadership and financial support of key Dallas-area organizations is a family commitment. Their passion and generosity is shared with many and includes educational institutions, agencies that provide life skills to homeless families and the elderly, the performing arts and nonprofits that enhance the quality of care and medical research.

Some of the institutions and organizations that have benefitted by the family’s time and generosity are SMU, UT Austin, UT Southwestern, The Stewpot, Interfaith Family Services, the Crystal Charity Ball, AT&T Performing Arts Center, The Senior Source and Communities Foundation of Texas.

The third generation of Hegi family philanthropists has already been established. Six grandchildren Kate, Mary Allison, Hunter, Anna, Lila and Katherine have been empowered by their parents and grandparents to give back and change lives through a Communities Foundation of Texas fund.

Dallas is deeply grateful to the Hegi family as it maintains a passion and commitment to support the Greater Dallas community.

Honorary Chairs are Allie Beth and Pierce Allman, with Linda Jenkins and Bettina Hennessy serving as event Co-chairs.

For information, contact Angie Shank at 214.428.7476 x 230 or flora@txdg.org.

Table Sponsor
Sponsor Level:
Add To Cart
Individual Tickets
Patron Level:
Add To Cart


Your sponsorship and support of the Flora Award will help us grow our mission of sustainability. Giving green can help us go green at Texas Discovery Gardens!


Allie Beth and Pierce Allman
Bettye Slaven
Janet Smith
Marilyn Waisanen
Myrna and Bob Schlegel
Denise and Ray Nixon
Suzy and Tom Rhodes
Jan Pickens
Barbara Hunt Crow
Ellen and John McStay
Ebby Halliday Acers
Lindalyn Adams
Peggy and Carl Sewell
Louise Spence Griffeth
Marilyn H. Augur
J.L. Huffines
Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison
Dee and Charles Wyly
Mary Anne Sammons Cree
Henry C. Beck
Nancy and Robert H. Dedman
Lucille Gannon Murchison
Laura and President George W. Bush
Deedie and Edward W. “Rusty” Rose
Nellie B. Connally
Jed Mace, posthumously
Amelia “Mimi” Lay Hodges
Raymond D. Nasher
Lady Bird Johnson
Mary Nell and Ralph B. Rogers
Nancy B. Hamon
Sis and William Plack Carr
Juanita and Henry S. Miller
Dorothy and Donald E. Sable
Margaret Hunt Hill
John Thompson
Jere Thompson
Jodie Thompson
Ruth Sharp Altshuler
Dorothy and Lawrence Herkimer
Millie Hightower
Gerald Hines
Rita Crocker Clements
Patricia Meadows and The Meadows Foundation
Gloria Vanderbilt
Naud Burnett II
Caroline Rose Hunt
Margaret and Trammell Crow
Mary and John Watson
Ben Carpenter
John Carpenter III
Margaret Jonsson
Dan Williams
Bjorn Winblad
Frank Harmon
Helen Boehm